top of page
Search
  • ALEXANDRA TORRES

Blessing on Bitcoin


About a year ago, my husband and I got interested in Cryptocurrency. My husband had heard of it before but wasn't very knowledgable on it. We watched documentaries, YouTube videos, etc. and learned as much as we could about it. (My husband more than me). He turned into this crypto nerd. Who did I marry? One of our favorite documentaries is called Banking on Bitcoin on Netflix.

Since we consult each other on just about everything we spend our money on, he asked me how much I would feel comfortable putting into this Bitcoin thing. Of course the conversation went a little more like, "Babe, what can I buy you in order to spend money on Bitcoin?" I am pretty sure I got a new purse or something. Haha, typical woman.

We decided to put in enough for us to "risk" but not enough to where we would go broke if we lost it all. For us, if we lost it that was okay. Definitely would stink BUT you cannot make money without a little risk, right?

Fast forward a year and God has blessed us more than we could have ever imagined. In so many ways but especially in Cryptocurrency. OKAY, before you think to yourself, seriously. God blessing them through Cryptocurrency? Okay, Alex. Pretty sure God doesn't care about Cryptocurrency. Sure, I get that thought process. But let me share a little more.

When we decided to put in that money over a year ago we also felt God calling us to give $1,000 to a family here in Hawaii. We were not friends with them. Honestly, they never really gave us the time of day. But I prayed, "God please bless this". I prayed God would give me a giving heart because honestly, I kind of struggled with that. That he would bless us financially because we were blessing others. God tells us to test him in this area.

Malachi 3:10 says, “Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. And thereby put me to the test, says the LORD of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.”

Since then, God has blessed us more than we could have ever dreamed in just ONE year. So here we are a year later. We have been praying and talking about how we need to bless someone this year. Someone who truly needs it. The money would be life changing for them.

A few days later we were scrolling on Facebook and saw a family that lost EVERYTHING. It really moved us. Over 20 years of memories, pictures, everything. I got tears in my eyes thinking about all of the pictures of our boys. All of the annoying crafts my son brings home. Our life, gone. I don't know what I would do.

This family somehow didn't care about any of those things. They were so grateful that no one was hurt. They can always rebuild. WOW, that's good. That's who we are called to give to. We just felt it in our hearts.

We are able to bless this family so much now. I really do not say that to brag in any way. Trust me, without our investments in Cryptocurrency and Bitcoin in particular, we wouldn't be able to do this. We are not even going to notice this money leaving our account but this family will be beyond blessed by it. Isn't that good? God is so good!

It honestly makes us want to just keep giving it away. Alright, God, let's play! If I give this amount, how much can you bless our family? It sounds funny but I believe God totally blesses a giving heart! If you do not believe that, try it! I dare you!

With all of that said, Bitcoin constantly makes the news for 'bad' things. Sure, bad guys purchase human beings with Bitcoin. Drugs are sold with Bitcoin. You name it, it's probably done with Bitcoin. BUT I am here to tell you that Bitcoin can be done for good! Just like the dollar can be done for bad. It can be done for good!

We love talking about Bitcoin. Not about how much we have because we are not about to go there. When people (most people) tell us how stupid it is, we just laugh. They call it 'monopoly money', useless, a waste of time. Well, we will just take our magic internet money and keep doing God's work. (& buy cute shoes, because come on... who doesn't like cute shoes)

I hope this blog post encourages you to think other ways about Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency. I pray it encourages you to take risks and most of all, to give. God blesses a giving heart. Start out this year doing something for someone else and see how it comes back to you!


115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page